27 Cats Recommit for Season 8

Lui Zacher
March 21, 2023 / 7:33 pm

Geelong has locked away almost 30 players for the upcoming AFLW season, with The Cats retaining its largest cohort of players to date.

Inaugural Cats Meghan McDonald, Nina Morrison, Becky Webster, Julia Crockett-Grills, Kate Darby, Georgie Rankin and Renee Garing are among 27 players who have committed to pulling on the Hoops again.

All-Australians Amy McDonald, Georgie Prespakis and Chloe Scheer are also among the re-signings.

It comes as the Cats secured Pick 1 in next month’s AFLW Supplementary Draft in a deal to send midfielder Laura Gardiner to Sydney.

“We’re absolutely delighted by the show of commitment from our playing group, with the competition where it is, player movement across the competition is noticeable, but it is pleasing to see the buy-in from our players to our vision for our AFLW program and the connection among the group,” Geelong Cats Head of AFLW and Football Pathways Brett Johnson said.

“Our players have been on an incredible journey of growth the past two seasons, and we’re excited to see how they continue to unlock excellence in Season 8.”



Returning Players:

Mikayla Bowen, Annabel Johnson, Amy McDonald, Darcy Moloney, Jackie Parry, Julia Crockett-Grills, Kate Darby, Nina Morrison, Georgie Rankin, Meghan McDonald, Renee Garing, Liv Fuller, Chloe Scheer, Shelley Scott, Chantel Emonson, Brooke Plummer, Zali Friswell, Becky Webster, Rachel Kearns, Sammy Gooden, Mia Skinner, Claudia Gunjaca, Ingrid Houtsma, Gabbi Featherston, Abbey McDonald, Georgie Prespakis, Melissa Bragg.


Image: Geelong players celebrating a win. (Geelong Cats Image/Susie Giese)